As in most other states, possession of a controlled substance can carry a wide range of punishment. The majority of the law regarding drug possession in Arkansas can be found in Chapter 64 of the criminal code. 

Possession of Methamphetamine is treated the most severely. This drug has been the subject of many ant-drug campaigns and also the subject of many a legislators campaign slogans. You will need an aggressive defense plan if you are facing methamphetamine charges in Arkansas.

Possession of narcotic pills and cocaine are also treated very seriously in Arkansas. However, there are alternatives to prison that are available in some instances. You may be eligible for a local drug court program or a possible probation sentence. You should work closely with an experienced attorney to guide you in your legal defense.

The particular severity of your Arkansas drug possession charge also depends on whether or not you are accused of delivery, possession with intent to deliver, or manufacturing of a drug. If proven, these charges provide much harsher penalties than say for example “simple possession.”Convictions for possession of drugs / controlled substances can result in severe jail sentences. If you have a record, you run the jeopardy as being sentenced to enhanced penalties or even worse, having the “feds” pick up your charges.

Arkansas drug offense penalties range widely depending on the “Schedule” of the drug. Arkansas, along with other states, organize drugs according to a schedule of severity. A schedule I would be something like methamphetamine. On the other end, at schedule VI is marijuana. For those offenses punishable as a felony, these are the potential sentencing ranges in Arkansas:

· Class D felony: up to 6 years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines

· Class C felony: 3-10 years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines

· Class B felony: 5-20 years in prison and up to $15,000 in fines

· Class A felony: 6-30 years in prison and up to $15,000 in fines

· Class Y felony: 10-40 years in prison and fines as determined by the court

Possession of a controlled substance (or Arkansas drug charges) can carry significant penalties, with even steeper penalties for people with a criminal history. An attorney who specializes in the defense of CDS crimes will review the facts of your case and advise you of your different options and their possible outcomes.